Review: Graze UK – Healthy snack by post

Graze-snacks to your door

Graze-snacks to your door

A few years ago, I signed up to Graze to get a free box of snacks to take to uni. After receiving my first box, I cancelled my recurring deliveries and forgot all about it. Until a couple of months ago that is, when I was sent an email by Graze reminding me of my membership and inviting me to take a look at their new range of snack. So I thought, why not have a little browse. And I have been hooked even since-I now receive a box every couple of weeks and absolutely love their breakfast range.

Graze variety box

Graze variety box

So here’s how it works: sign up and get your first box free. Continue with your deliveries and discover a world of wonderful snacks that you can rate or slate, and get your 5th and 10th boxes free too. Recommend a friend for extra discounts and take advantage of their regular offers to try a new box at a discounted price. Their current range of boxes includes the standard variety box, a light box for any calorie counters, low sugar for the health conscious or diabetic, savoury box for those without a sweet tooth, brownie, chocolate and flapjack boxes for those with a sweet tooth, a protein box for gym bunnies and sharing boxes perfect for a party, movie night, or just for those with a giant appetite, plus their new breakfast boxes with a delicious and nutritious range of muesli, granola and porridge portions to change up your morning routine.

Graze breakfasts

Graze breakfasts

Here are my ‘love it’ picks and ‘bin it’ rejections so far: the ‘super kale and edamame’ is salty, crunchy and packed with vitamin K; the ‘chai latte’ nut and seed mix mixes buttery macadamia nuts, coconut ribbons, and spiced and yoghurt coated seeds for a nutritious mouthful (this makes a great addition toyour muesli too), the ‘japanese miso’ soup is a light and fragrant broth that will calm your cravings; the ‘Moroccan harissa pitted beldi olives are full-bodied in flavour and pack a little heat; and the ‘banoffee dippers’ with sweet and crumbly banana flavoured biscuits and a silky caramel dipping sauce are the perfect naughty nibble that is not as naughty as you’d think! I’m on the fence about their ‘brilliant banana cake with afternoon infusion’-the tea is a lovely blend, but the cake lacks a certain je ne said quoi… butter perhaps? 🙂

Banana cake and afternoon infusion

Banana cake and afternoon infusion

Chai latte nut and seed mix

Chai latte nut and seed mix

I wasn’t so keen on the ‘lemon and rosemary pitted beldi and kalamata olives’ which I found to be a little oily, the ‘coconut crumble cake’ was too coconut-y and crumbly for me; I’m not a fan of the texture of desiccated coconut, and ‘Eleanor’s apple crumble’ would have been great were it not for the apple pieces which I found to lack any fruitiness and be a little like polystyrene in texture (no fault of Graze; I have never been a fan of dried apple).

Graze breakfast box

Graze breakfast box

As for the breakfasts, the ‘pomegranate and blackcurrant’ muesli with multigrain honey granola, barley, rice flakes and puffed rice is in my top 3; its wonderfully fruits and has great texture on account of the various grains. I love the hum of cinnamon and ginger in the ‘ski lodge spiced apple’ granola with crunchy pecans and almonds and juicy jumbo raisins. Finally, the ‘banoffee porridge’ gives you a sugar fix, but surprisingly without all the sugar, with only 9.2g of sugar per serving (minus the milk). The banana coins soften in the milk, imparting their concentrated banana flavour, while the fudge pieces melt into the milk for a creamy, sweet touch—I like to add fresh sliced banana for extra texture and fresh flavour. The ‘forest berry porridge’ was a little bland and I’m not a fan of the orange zest pieces that come in the ‘toasted quinoa granola’ and ‘dark chocolate orange granola’ (but I do like these cereals once I have meticulously picked out the orange!)

Pomegranate and blackcurrant muesli

Pomegranate and blackcurrant muesli

Dark chocolate orange granola

Dark chocolate orange granola

Try for yourself and you never know what might take your fancy. Change up your snacking habits and you’ll no longer need to reach for the cookie jar.

About SAFbakes

Want to know where to eat and what to bake? Join me at dinediscover.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

